Flight of fantasy

“In every set of twins, there is one angel, one devil.”

For me, the best gifts are books, especially if they have a little handwritten note in them. And not just that, the book itself offers a sense of companionship, a sense that adds more meaning to bond between friends. Back in 2014, a dear friend R. sent over a Christmas gift for me – I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson. The cover jacket is simple, with large fonts and colourful streaks radiating outward. She told me I’d love the book. And she was so right.

A fictional story, the book focusses on Jude and her twin brother, Noah. If Noah is the quiet one, shy and with his head buried in his work, Jude is an extrovert and adventurous. Being twins, they share a very strong bond, however, due to certain circumstances, from the ages of thirteen to sixteen, they drift apart. Noah falls for the boy next door, while Jude too meets a boy with a broken soul.

The narrative of this young adult fiction is fresh and quite appealing. The first section of the book belongs to Noah, where we see the events over a three-year period from his perspective. The latter section belongs to Jude where she gets her narration in place. Noah, an artist with innate skills, often paints pictures in his head, giving any scene a much-needed artistic expression. (Another reason why I got this book, it has a lot of reference to art) Those who don’t understand the concept of magical realism, search no further. This book literally paints an image in this air as there were real bursts of colour and glitter, spark and animation that add volumes to the thought-process of Noah.

Jude on the other hand, is quite adept with stone sculpting and while her brother may seem to have quite a gift, she has a strong belief in superstitions and often chats with her grandmother’s ghost.

“To reverse destiny, stand in a field with a knife pointed in the direction of the wind”

Clearly the siblings are quite unique. The earliest book I read on carving was The Agony and The Ecstasy, and while I’ll Give You The Sun may not match up in detail with the former, the bare essence is not tampered with. The crux of the story is the lives of the twins, the events that bind them and the events that tore them apart.

I’m not a big fan of love stories, even though I may sometime be quite a romantic. But the story between Noah and Brian moved me. My friends say I’m partial towards gay love, so be it. And the pain of love between these two had me being glum for quite a few days.

Though the plot seemed to take ages to mature, the climax was short and not as complex as the plot itself. This was a bit of a disappointment. However, the book definitely left me feeling faintly happy and loved.

Another aspect my friend knew would capture my heart is the strong fraternal love between the twins. Although I don’t have a twin (oh, how I wish I did), my bond with brother is very strong and I know it is something that will always be with me. I’m ever thankful to R. for the book, and methinks, I just may hole up in my room with it for the weekend and forget about the real world, and hover in happiness in a world of my own.

This post is part of the eighth annual A to Z Challenge that takes place in the month of April. The theme for this month is ‘Between Pages’. It’s my second attempt at this. Feedback is most welcome, constructive criticism, even more. Share your experiences and let’s enjoy this month of fabulous blogging.

4 thoughts on “Flight of fantasy

Leave a Reply

