Why I’m warming up to eBooks

Disclaimer: To whomsoever it may concern, this post dwells on the first year of my career as a trainee sub editor. It does not, I repeat, it DOES NOT reflect my current professional situation; far from it in reality.


One sits listlessly in office, swatting at flies no can see, catching a few winks in between chai breaks, but this was something I did not perceive would ever occur to me. Like everyone else, I dreamt of a profession that pays, sends you on trips and possibly kept you within the confines of an office as little as possible. And I still dream on. Journalism. Sounds like a snazzy job to be doing, but truthfully, part of it can become quite monotonous. Resting your fine tushy on a chair for six hours straight! Heck I definitely did not dream of this.

And just as sure I was about my job, I was about ebooks. They suck. I was never in favour of new technologies like the Kindle. I’m pretty old school when it comes to books. For me, the touch, the feel and the flipping of pages added to the entire experience of a book. Every time I bought a new book, I plunged my face within its pages and would sniff in the glorious bouquet of the print. If it was a second hand book, then the yellowed pages would draw me closer. It was just something else you could not argue with.

But with spending six hours in front of your office desktop, wasting at least half that amount felt criminal. Till, I discovered the real joy of reading an ebook.

I had started Satanic Verses by Salman Rushdie, but something better came along the way. Do not misunderstand me. Do not assume that I am degrading Salman Rushdie. It’s just that his book was not ideal for an office environment. One must ruminate, ponder over and patiently digest his words.

However for me, Michael Crichton or Stephen King could be gulped down in a jiffy. They hold your focus till they suck the life force out of you. And before I knew it, I had finishedΒ Pet Cemetary and The Shining by Stephen King, and Sphere, Disclosure and Airframe by Michael Crichton.

Earlier I believed that the constant routine of a work life had smothered my hunger for books, but I hadΒ discovered a way around it and I’m ever thankful for eBooks for making my life a little easier.

The link here will give you access to a treasure trove of long lost books and I can’t wait to get started on Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep by Phillip K Dick!

Participating in Half Marathon Blogging Challenge – Day 12 – with Blogchatter.

7 thoughts on “Why I’m warming up to eBooks

  1. Same pinch! :D The ebooks are a savior on boring afternoons at work. I used to detest them too, but I finished a small book during a dull afternoon, and have found them interesting ever since!


  2. I hate Salman Rushdie and I started reading eBooks because in a IT office, they would just say its violation of rules to read a book. So eBook became my new friend. I completely echo your thoughts here! And checking out that link you have mentioned. ;)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

