Spinning in circles…

It’s already the month of July and it seems like just yesterday we were celebrating New Year’s Day. Time flies by so quickly. I know the year did not start with a bang for me, but all I wanted was some peace and progress of which there’s little, to none. But I must not sound pessimistic, for I do have something to be thankful for- mainly, a legal case that had harangued my parents and me is finally drawing to a close. After having spent a good part of my 20s making endless rounds of hospitals and court houses, it’s time to try and find those rose-tinted glasses again.

The year started with my firm shifting its head office, yet again, and this time I found myself at the dreaded Okhla Phase 3. Travel back and forth has become a royal pain in the ass. The extra time I get in the metro is utilised reading, and this year my reading challenge is not just to hit the 24-mark or cross last year’s 40-mark, but to read some difficult and serious books, books that will truly challenge my mind and discipline me as a reader.

So, I’ve finally managed to finish The Age of Reason by Jean Paul Sartre; the massive Shantaram by Gregory D Roberts, that made Mumbai seem even more alluring to me; God is not Great by Christopher Hitchens appealed to the logical person in me to Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides that helped stretch my mind and heart even more; Sophie’s World by Jostein Gaarder was like being handheld through a crisp philosophy course. Truman Capote’s In Cold Blood was a stunner. I thought it would be extremely slow, if not boring from time to time, but I couldn’t have been more wrong. I stumbled onto Patricia Highsmith and her famed book on lesbians – The Price of Salt. An author who really ripped into the crime genre, I’m definitely going to pick up more of her books in the near future.

Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro was very intriguing, and the Japanese really know how to fathom the many emotions that sear through our bodies and minds. Finally, my current reads are supremely brilliant and they need extreme patience, although The Name of the Rose by Umberto Eco is clearly testing mine. A medieval thriller set in an abbey, it takes all the will power in the world to not charge ahead but to slow down, savour the words and research the various Latin phrases and medieval terminology. A long supporter of Palestine, Gideon’s Spies by Gordon Thomas is a real revelation in the ingenious ways of the Mossad, renowned world over for being superior to most intelligence agencies, be it the KGB, MI5 or even the CIA. Filled with history lessons and learning about political debacles, this book is a must-read.

Taking the online community, offline, this year I met up with fellow bloggers at the Blogchatter class in Delhi, and thoroughly enjoyed the first Delhi meet-up of The Sunday Book Club. One thing is certain, when such get-togethers take place, time always falls short.

An ecstatic achievement this year was the AtoZChallenge in the month of April. Even though it was strenuous, I understood the true meaning of an online blogging community. The months of April, May and June left me in a tizzy with a Marvel hangover, leaving absolutely no time to study for my IGNOU exams. I tend to nurture some unhealthy obsessions.

This may not count as an achievement, but I’m really happy I’ve started to develop a taste for beer. And it’s all because of those numerous breweries dishing out craft beer of every kind in Gurgaon. Now, my near-perfect weekends would mean endless TV or Netflix, Pepperoni pizza and chilled beer.

To end the half-year with a bang, my home is being renovated and I couldn’t have been happier about it. My burgeoning boards on Pinterest are coming to much use now, not to mention, making me a little crazy in the process.

8 thoughts on “Spinning in circles…

  1. Oops.. I wanted to hit enter and instead it was reply.. Continuing..
    Sophie’s world is a fantastic book. My father got it for my brother and me when we were teenagers. It’s been so long that now after you mentioned, I want to read it again. I like your reading list. A lot going on.
    Travel time takes so much energy but glad you are using that to read.
    Over a period of one year, I’ve started enjoying gin with tonic water. It’s my favorite like you enjoy beer :) have a wonderful 2nd half of the year.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Woah! The reading challenge that you have opted to take up is truly better than the number of books challenge! I had picked up Sophie’s World (had done that when you posted about it in April), but I stopped midway and left it there. It just got too philosophical for me 🙈
    House getting renovated, eh? All the best for that 😃

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

